IVF part 3: survival of the fittest

The IVF process from egg collection onwards is a real eye opener.

Our egg collection process retrieved 24 eggs. Then, at the party-in-a-petri-dish on day one  23 eggs were fertilised. 15 embryos “hatched” on day three. 13 embryos survived to blastocyst stage on day five. They were all biopsied for pre-genetic testing and then frozen.

They told us that 13 embryos was a ludicrously good result. I felt confident and happy, even if I was a little uneasy at the thought that we had a football team (and reserves) sitting on ice.

Our guys were biopsied on day five and those biopsied cells were sent away for testing, to see if there were any chromosomal abnormalities.  Given our history, it was the sensible thing to do. When I received the call from my gynaecologist exactly a month after the egg collection I realised just how sensible it was.

Only two out of the 13 embryos tested as “normal”. Embryo number 4 and embryo number 6. Three were “inconclusive”. The remainder were “abnormal”. I was shocked. What did this mean? We still do not really know, except they their cell division was not normal and the abnormalities appeared to be random. I called my husband straight away. As I heard his voice I started shaking and crying, and had to babble “it’s not as bad as it sounds!” quickly so that he wouldn’t worry. I told him the news. He was gobsmacked too.

It took a few days to come around from the shock of only two of our “guys” surviving to believing that two was a good result in the end and meant that we had a real chance of finally getting off the mouse wheel of infertility.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

