The days after we ended our pregnancy

It has been over three months since I ended my pregnancy. I can say now with hindsight that I have more or less made it through.

The first week was bloody hard. We chose to escape the city and headed to a remote beach a few hours away. During the day we skimmed stones, dawdled on the beach, visited walking tracks and touristy places. In the evenings my husband and I sat with a glass of wine in our hands, often quiet, often upset, talking about how shit life can be across the dinner table. It was a surreal time, it was as though everything slowed down so we could marinate in our sadness.

Being back at work was hard. I went back a week and a day after surgery. The first person I saw from work was in the lift, she asked, “is everything OK with you?” I’d been out of the office for nearly three weeks without much explanation. I thought I would cry then and there. I looked away and said, “yes, fine thanks.” For the first couple of weeks, I was OK maybe one day in three. By OK I mean that I was able to do some work. The other days I stared at the screen, thinking constantly of what had happened. Trying not to cry.

Then I had a meltdown. I was sitting at my desk one Monday and for some reason I was fixated on our loss. I couldn’t think of anything else. I couldn’t look anyone in the eye. I achieved nothing at work. My anxiety grew. I couldn’t continue like this, I had billable hours to meet. My boss would lose his patience and eventually I’d get fired. Surely. I panicked. I decided I needed time out. I didn’t know how much time.

I talked to my husband and my close friends, they told me to be brave and to talk to my boss. So I did. And he was fine with my taking some time out. But then I faltered. It was as though the fact of telling my boss lifted an immense weight off my shoulders and all of a sudden I felt like I was able to keep working. What a mess I was.

And so here I am. I didn’t take any time off after all. I have terrible days filled with anxiety and sadness, and then great days where I feel a bit like the old me. It’s a process  I suppose.

4 thoughts on “The days after we ended our pregnancy

  1. I’m so sorry for your losses. No one should have to go through this. We have just terminated a much wanted pregnancy because of Down syndrome diagnosis so I know how gut wrenching it is. 4 rounds of IVF and passed the 12 week hurdle to find this diagnosis and subsequent termination at 13 weeks. Hardest few weeks of my life. Big hugs to you xx

    Like

    1. I’m so sorry to hear of your loss also, and it must be so devastating after four rounds of IVF, I can’t imagine. I don’t know if you have found the Facebook page Ending a Wanted Pregnancy, but I found that it (and writing this blog) kept me upright at the worst of times. Hugs xo

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Your comment hits home with me even more now that we have been through IVF as well. I don’t know how we get through these things sometimes! I’m so sorry to read that your loss was following four rounds of IVF, it’s almost incomprehensibly crap xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

